Our Region

The Wheatbelt consists of five sub-regions: Avon, Central Coast, Central East, Central Midlands and Wheatbelt South. Each sub-region is serviced by a sub-regional centre (Northam, Jurien Bay, Merredin, Moora and Narrogin) and has unique economic and population drivers.  

With a population of 75,000, the Wheatbelt is the third most populous region in the State. This population is highly dispersed with over 200 towns and settlements spread across 154,862 square kilometres. The Region is governed by 42 local governments, with no single dominant regional centre. 

With an average annual compound economic growth rate of 8.2% and a diverse economic base, the Wheatbelt is well positioned to make significant contribution to the State and Nation’s growth.

The region has an increasingly diverse economic base with growth in mining, transport and logistics, manufacturing and construction sectors underpinned by a strong agriculture sector.


Quick Links